listening to albums released this year that i didn’t realise had come out

Happy Christmas Eve!!

I had a whole plan for this and I went through the releases for the first 6 months of the year and listed a load of them, and then new albums came and I switched those out for others. There was a lot of music I missed this year and next year I really want to make an effort to listen to new things and give my time to new music, and not just listen to the same 10 albums on repeat. I tried to do that now and these albums are pretty damn good.

Further Joy – The Regrettes

The Regrettes - Further Joy | Clash Magazine Music News, Reviews &  InterviewsI am not as on top of The Regrettes as I should be. Like I know that I’ll like their music but I don’t make the effort I should to listen to them. This post provided a good excuse to do just that. I love their sound, I love this whole album. I think Anxieties is a great album opener and a fantastic way to start a skipless album. I will take my head out of the sand and stan like I should.
My favourite songs were: Anxieties, Monday, That’s What Makes Me Love You, You’re So Fucking Pretty

Anaïs Mitchell  – Anaïs Mitchell

Anaïs Mitchell: Anaïs Mitchell Album Review | PitchforkI feel like I would have loved this album when I was like 12, like I like it now but it’s so my taste then. The lyrics are so honest and real. Like some of the songs are so simple but just beautiful (Real World for sure). The whole album just feels like a hug I love it. And I forgot how much I like stripped back folk, I gotta listen to music like this more often. And I love her singing voice, it’s like The Band Perry’s Kimberly and Carly Simon combined, I’m kind of obsessed with it.
My favourite songs were: Brooklyn Bridge(!!!), Revenant, Backroads, Now You Know

Flora Fauna – Billie Marten

Flora Fauna by Billie Marten Reviews and Tracks - MetacriticBumped Wet Leg for this and it was so worth it. I loved Creature of Mine when it came out and like 30 seconds into Garden of Eden I was so mad at myself for putting off listening to this. Holy shit. It’s so cool how am I meant to describe this? It feels like The Pierces or MS MR mixed with like First Aid Kit and Paramore (I realised mid album that she’s pretty much Billie but earthy). Absolutely obsessed. What a genius. I will listen to her whole back catalogue immediately a queen. Also the cover art is so cool. Just adore.
My favourite songs were: Garden of Eden, Human Replacement, Ruin(!!!!), Aquarium

Once Twice Melody – Beach House

Beach House: Once Twice Melody Album Review | PitchforkI actually picked this up on cd at work in like June. My dad for some reason was interested in listening to it with me but he never did. So I didn’t fully plan on getting to this so late is what I’m saying. I’m very flip floppy on Beach House; I’ve heard a few albums and odd songs but don’t tend to remember their music well. Even though I like it when I listen to it. Their music kind of flows together in my brain. I did like the Twin Peaks feel of this, it’s very Julee Cruise meets Bryan Ferry and I very much like that. Super chill, roadtrip dreamy type vibe. If nothing else, it’s great background music. I will say that even with this listen and really trying to pay attention; I prefer the first half to the second.
My favourite songs were: Once Twice Melody, Pink Funeral, Through Me, New Romance, Only You Know, Modern Love Stories

Everything to Everyone – Reneé Rapp

Reneé Rapp new EP 'Everything To Everyone' - TotalNtertainmentI did catch this one only a couple days after release, but it fits with the rest of the albums here and I want to talk about it somewhere. Reneé’s debut EP with 7 songs (3 of which we knew I think) (one is an intro and just over a minute long). She started out professionally on broadway and was Regina George in Mean Girls for a while, now she’s in LA and is in the Sex Lives of College Girls (which is a great show) and making sad pop bangers. Literally the lyricism here is insane. Like so good. Heart-breaking and so real and ugh. She’s a star in the making and there’s nothing she can’t do. This is an incredible first project. Her music gives Adele and Ariana’s lovechild to me. Could be mad to say that though.
My favourite songs are: In The Kitchen, Colorado, What Can I Do, Moon

Palomino – First Aid Kit

First Aid Kit – Palomino | DorkActually listened to this one on release day because one of the volunteers asked me if I listened to them which reminded me this was a thing, and I love the song they just did with Tove and I keep seeing them everywhere so why not. Definitely more folky than I tend to go for. I think I lean heavier and more on the rock side or just full country. Not really the actually folk middle ground ever, so this was a welcome change. Their voices are absolutely insane, and have such a pretty tone that’s completely unique but also very comfortable. Maybe that’s just folk music though idk.
My favourite songs were: Angel (so so pretty), Fallen Snow, Nobody Knows, A Feeling That Never Came

booty call – bülow

Booty Call - Single by bülow | SpotifyThe singles from this EP were so good (Booty Call and Don’t Break His Heart one the ones I caught), the full EP was fully on my radar. There’s only 5 songs, I totally have no excuse for not listening to it on release day. I just suck. It is a stellar EP though. Like so good and ethereal and homely. She’s totally going to be a force, I cannot wait to see what else she does.
I tried to pick favourite songs but I just ended up listing all the EP’s  tracks

Dance Fever – Florence + the Machine

Florence and the Machine - Dance Fever.pngI tend to listen to every other Florence album and I didn’t catch more than the lead single of her last release so I needed to listen to this one (I love the music of hers I have heard and I will one day fill those gaps). I loved King the second I heard it and I knew this whole album would be pure magic. Lyrics so good I don’t really understand how they write it. Like there are some insane lines here, what did they do after? Just write another? Like I don’t understand having a mind like this.
My favourite songs were: King, Choreomania(!!!), Girls Against God, Cassandra, Daffodil, My Love, The Bomb (crying), Morning Elvis

Sometimes Forever – Soccer Mommy

Soccer Mommy: Sometimes, Forever Album Review | PitchforkI honestly have never been a Soccer Mommy girl. There have been odd songs that I’ve loved but again, I’ve never listened to a full project. A lot of this post is me listening to people that people with similar tastes and styles to me do, and people I follow love Soccer Mommy so I had to do it. Very much a beabadoobee vibe here, which I love. It feels like Fake It Flowers’ cousin or something but like moodier. Favourite cover art of the post for sure
My favourite songs were: With U, Unholy Affliction, newdemo, Fire in the Driveway, Following Eyes, 

Girl Next Door – Kailee Morgue

Kailee Morgue - Girl Next Door - Reviews - Album of The YearFirst of all just so much love for this album cover. I absolutely love it. I’ve been waiting so so long for an album from Kailee Morgue but I would not know this was a thing if I didn’t go on my public Instagram once a month. Her team has got to improve their promo. I just love her voice, it really glides and is so perfect for this pop punk vibe (I’d say it leans more pop than punk). This new brand of pop punk girls is really making my heart happy. I love the through lines in this album and the universe. I am a sucker for a concept album and while this isn’t super conceptual, it’s got a lot of turning 20/growing up/high school bits to it. All of which work super well with the album title. Have I said anything here? I’m not sure. But this is a great album. If you like Maggie Lindemann or Nessa Barrett you will love this.
My favourite songs were: Trainwreck, Falling from the Sky, Alright Ok, Queen Bitch, 

Big Time – Angel Olsen

Angel Olsen: Big Time Album Review | PitchforkI got into Angel Olsen so late (and I got around to listening to this album even later) but I am such a fan now. Her music has such a nostalgic factor, it reminds me of soundtracks I love and moments that I’ve never had but remember so well. I just love the feel of her songs and I love this album. A new fave and a car album for sure, I will eventually get my license and drive around to this.
My favourite songs were: All The Good Times, Ghost On, All The Flowers, Right Now, Go Home

Emotional Creature – Beach Bunny

Beach BunnyI had heard a couple singles from this album (Oxygen and Weeds) and a few of their other songs. So once I remembered this was out I was very excited to hear a full body of work by them. There’s a definite Letters To Cleo vibe here (Entropy, Deadweight), and like the late films in the Twilight saga. Like a lot of these songs would slot well into the Breaking Dawn soundtracks (Oxygen). There are honestly so many bands and singers they remind me of, it’s just the perfect storm of so much good. Like I really love this project, it brings me so much joy and excitement and I feel like they’d be great live.
My favourite songs were: Entropy, Gone, Weeds(!!! I love it a lot), Scream, Love Song (adorable)

Featured image credits to NME

Georgia

x

Leave a comment