my april 2024 favourites

I am getting this done so last minute and my brain isn’t the best right now. So if the writing portion is super clunky that’s why. But the items are still good. This has been such a quick month, like insanely quick. But for some reason it’s still cold as hell. I know the two things aren’t connected but if the time is going to speed up to summer quickly the weather may as well act like it.

FASHION

I have decided to stop being ashamed to repeat pieces in these posts. Wearing pieces over and over again is like the biggest part of sustainability and I am happy to have so many pieces that I still wear years after buying them.

I got my black Converse in like 2022 and as soon as it warmed up and dried up a little I was back to wearing them all the time. They were for Pride Month and so have the lesbian flag stripes on the Converse logo and a rainbow bottom. I love wearing them, they go with everything and they’re beyond comfortable. I’ve had some foot issues this year and that is pretty much all sorted now, but I love knowing that they can’t get back again in these shoes.

Every spring I get this Urban Outfitters fleece out. It has these like earthy colours and is pretty cool. I tend to like live in it for a few weeks straight and then hate it for 11 months. I definitely had that cycle this April. It started to look kind of odd on me, and I picked up other coats that I want to wear for the remainder of this cold snap. But I think I’ll be bringing it to the festivals I’m going to this summer.

BEAUTY

Cowboy Kush by Boy SmellsAs soon as I saw ‘Cowboy Kush’ by Boy Smells I knew I needed it. Then I saw the notes and I really needed it. I will list the notes below but it’s a total fruity, nutty, woody, leathery dream that is unlike anything else I’ve smelt ever. I am going to be wearing this forever. New signature.
Notes: Cannabis, Hazelnut, Labdanum, Mandarin orange, Oud, Patchouli, Saffron blossom, Suede, Tobacco, Tonka bean, White leather

Carbon Theory Tea Tree Oil & Citric Acid Breakout Control Facial Purifying  Tonic 250mlI always forget to include skincare products. They’re usually all used up before I get around to it but I am getting a jump on this one. I have started using the Carbon Theory Tea Tree Oil & Citric Acid Breakout Control Facial Purifying Tonic as my night time toner and my skin has been loving it. I’ve been getting over a bad breakout recently and this toner has really helped. Aside from a few odd spots my skin is the clearest it’s been in months and I think this toner has really helped. I am such a big fan of Carbon Theory in general but this product is something else.

Maybelline New York Lifter Gloss, Plumping & Hydrating Lip Gloss with  Hyaluronic Acid, 5.4 ml, Shade: 006, ReefRight now I have a bit of a mouth situation that is driving me up the wall but for a chunk of this month the Maybelline Liftergloss in Reef was on my lips every day. The formula is so smooth and it wear so well. It’s not sticky or gross feeling and is just a total dream. And this colour is stunning. I hope this wasn’t the cause of the issue because it is such a good product. If I find out I can, I will buy all the shades of this.

MUSIC

Espresso is a bop. The best major pop song to come out in a while. I have had it in my head every day since it came out as has everyone who’s heard it I think. I love that Sabrina is finally getting her flowers and the positive attention she deserves.

Good Luck, Babe! is a bop. The best lesbian pop song to come out ever maybe. I love Chappell so much, am so excited for this next era and for the blow up that is going to come. She’s going to be just huge and she deserves that and the world just immeasurably. I am so happy that a song about comp-het is getting this attention, it feels so random but so right. And I love my tattoo for it. So so cool. My top artist for the last year by the way. Just saying, I’ve been here.

I had a random country moment this month, as I do every spring but this year it went totally beyond. Two artists who I have been loving are Willow Avalon and Rett Madison. Both have a very classic sound with a modern flair. Their newest projects are so good and have been on constant repeat for me. I think I’m going to do a full country album post so I will keep this bit brief but seriously, listen to these projects.

BOOKS

Once again, I found it hard to pick a book I read this month and liked enough to call my favourite. The one I’m going to go with is actually not one I am set to keep, but one I had just a total whale of the time reading:
Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston is just such a fun book. I was not excited to read it and pre-emptively super embarrassed about it. But then not only was I reading it in public, I was reading it in public, kicking my feet, blushing and laughing my head off. I shouldn’t be surprised because I read and loved her other novels, but I just did not think I would like it as much as I did. Boy was I wrong. I’m still not keeping it, but that’s more because I want to put it in the pride display and get the sale for it.

TV AND FILM

Batman: The Animated Series (TV Series 1992–1995) - IMDbI spent a very fun weekend binging the Batman Animated Series. I hadn’t watched it before but had been meaning to since Netflix added it. I’ve been in a major DC mood and it sounded like fun to me. I love the old school approach, the classic depiction of the characters and the just back to basics of it all. Because these were the basics but my ideas of the Batman characters have been very skewed by modern takes. And I loved seeing where Harley came from, my girl forever.

SHUPSY Grey's Anatomy Black And White Poster Decorative Painting Canvas  Wall Posters And Art Picture Print Modern Family Bedroom Decor Posters  16x24inch(40x60cm) : Amazon.co.uk: Home & KitchenAfter Batman nothing sounded good to me. I tried to watch a bunch of different shows but nothing stuck. So I put on Grey’s Anatomy just for background noise and now I am in the endzone of season 9. I used to love Grey’s but haven’t watched it in a couple of years. I reserve the right to stop and I am doubtful that I’ll watch beyond season 12 but for now I’m having fun.

Georgia

x

Leave a comment