my march 2024 favourites

How is it already the end of March? How is it already Easter Weekend? This year is flying by, 3 more of this year so far and it’s Christmas and that is just wild to me. But it is lovely to wake up in the light again and to get home in the light and I’ve been warm walking home. I really do love Spring. I spent an insane amount of money this month but I couldn’t for the life of me tell you on what. Like thinking of material things for this one was tough but I got there.

FASHION

I actually have been clothes shopping this month, I just haven’t really worn any of the new pieces much for some reason.

One of the new clothing items that I have worn a good few times are these Urban Outfitters Logan Cinch Back brown jeans. I have been wanting them for so so long, and finally got a pair. Truly the last thing I needed was a new pair of jeans, but they’re brown and I didn’t have a pair of brown jeans. They fit like a dream, the cinch back is genius, and they’re comfortable as hell as UO jeans usually are for me.

I thrifted this Max Mara blazer jacket at work and I’ve been wearing it so so often since. It’s brown with lighter brown details in the wool and it just looks so classic and cool. It makes me think of Carolyn Kennedy whose style I’ve been really into as of late. It’s just a great early spring piece I think. A full styling post with it is coming at some point, I’ve been working on it at least.

I’ve had it a while and for sure have mentioned it before, but I really have been wearing my UO O Ring black thread necklace a ton. Because it reminds me of the necklace she wears a lot in Priscilla, I won’t lie that is the only reason. But I could not think of another clothing item that I’ve been wearing a ton and so it’s a good enough thing for me.

BEAUTY

Sol de Janeiro Cheirosa '71 Perfume Mist 90ml - LOOKFANTASTICPerfume wise; this month I have been royally obsessed with Sol de Janeiro Brazilian Crush Cheirosa 71. It’s insanely sweet and so yummy. The notes are all food and sweetness and it is just the best smelling perfume mist ever. I love smelling this, it makes me so happy and feel so much peace. This is my first Sol de Janeiro scent but not my last. I am a woman obsessed.

Dp Hue Gloss+ Copper Semi-Permanent Hair Color & Conditioner 6.5oz :  Amazon.co.uk: BeautyI’ve been wanting to try dpHue Gloss + for so so long, like years, and this month I finally tried out the copper shade. It’s a colour gloss for your hair. So it deposits colour without being too permanent or anything. I did like it, but my hair was too far gone so the colour didn’t do too much. Like it gave a tint and it made my pillow very orange but my hair didn’t look too much more coppery than it did before I tried it. I am very happy to have tried it though, and will for sure use it sooner if I go orange again. I just think I waited too long after dyeing my hair to use it (because I had to wait for pay day).

BOOKS

The Rapture (Paperback)This month I was more focused on reading books and getting them gone than reading great ones. One I did really enjoy was The Rapture by Claire McGlasson. It’s about a woman who lives in a cult with a load of other woman and her mother; her life in the cult, her relationships with the other woman and then how she gets out. The getting out is a minor spoiler, but I think escaping is a pretty expected aspect of any cult narrative. It is in fact gay, and religious repressed gay which is always fun. This was one of the books I was most excited to read this month and it did not disappoint.

MUSIC

There is new music again thank god. It’s been a pretty stacked month for it, I’ve not even listened to all the music I know came out this month (I have my reasons).

Eternal Sunshine (album) - WikipediaEternal Sunshine by Ariana Grande is obviously amazing. It’s so much deeper and more personal than her other projects, which I did not think was possible after TU,N and aspects of Positions. The production is so good and the whole thing is just so well crafted. But I would expect no less from Ms Grande. I love her, I missed her, this album is a masterpiece. My favourite songs are: intro (end of the world), bye, don’t wanna break up again, eternal sunshine, the boy is mine, we can’t be friends, i wish i hated you, imperfect for you. Truly most of the album.

Kacey Musgraves: Deeper Well Album Review | PitchforkThe other great release is Kacey Musgrave’s Deeper Well. Another divorce album, god I love divorce albums. That is actually super similar to ES conceptually but that’s not relevant here. It’s a country/folk chill project. Super breezy but lyrically beautiful and again super personal. Both Kacey and Ariana have really found their pockets with these amazing projects that came out within a week of each other. Just insane, we’re so lucky. My favourite songs are: Cardinal, Moving Out, Dinner With Friends, Jade Green, The Architect, Lonely Millionaire, Heaven Is(!!!)

My Receiptify top 50 for the month is these two albums, Chappell Roan’s album (still, for the like 5th month in a row at least) and the Hadestown Broadway Cast Recording. Have I mentioned Hadestown yet? I really love that musical.

TV AND FILM

Scandal finale: 5 ways the show changed television forever - VoxA good chunk of this month was spent finishing my annual Scandal rewatch. It got a bit tedious towards the end in a way it doesn’t usually, but I did it. I do love Scandal and I will regret watching it so early in the year when there’s a US election coming but I will deal with that later. Thank god for Channel 4 for having it, I love Channel 4.

16 Celebrities Who Guest-Starred on Criminal MindsI caved and am rewatching Criminal Minds. It’s another that I watch somewhat regularly, like every 2 years or so. The good thing about having seen it as often as I have is that I do not watch every single episode any more. I didn’t even watch season 1. But I do love it immeasurably and it is making me really happy. I’m on season 4 as I write this, season 6 probably when this goes up. The show is so long, there’s a really good chance I will still be watching it next month. I’m in a big Aaron mood this rewatch, Aaron and JJ are like my top 2. Which is fun, every rewatch I focus on a different character.

ALL EPISODES Season 4 ✨ | DC Super Hero GirlsI also have given into my curiosity around DC Super Hero Girls and I’m watching that sometimes. It’s a damn cute show and so fun. I’m watching the original web series (which is all on Youtube), because the new corporate version is Harley and Ivy less which is so dumb. I am just so happy that they made this, like 10 years ago there would not have been an animated kids show from DC about all the women on their roster, like they would not have done it. But they have and it rocks. Let’s see how long I last before I give up my Animal Crossing phase and pick up a DC Lego game again (it was later this day, I have now finally completed the story mode).

I also had a brief film phase this month.
Official Poster for Yorgos Lanthimos' 'Poor Things' : r/moviesHighlights include: Poor Things, which is insanely excellent. I’ve raved about it on here a couple times already and I have nothing new to say but I just loved it entirely. It’s funny, it looks great, it’s incredibly well acted. It shot straight into my Letterboxd top 4.
Drive-Away Dolls (2024) - IMDbAlso Drive Away Dolls which is lesbian Pulp Fiction. It again is a comical hoot, just so much fun. So gay, pretty violent, it’s set in Southern US but again is like super gay which is an intersection of things that I just love. I again just had a total whale of a time watching it. Margaret Qualley is in both of these films and I adore her, she’s really a star and is so good and I like her accent in this film. I like all the accents in both these films actually. And I really like both of the soundtracks which I have listened to outside of the films a few times each. Just flawless movies really. Real cinema is in fact back.

Georgia

x

Leave a comment