the groceries i bought when i was home alone for a week

This is a silly post, but I had it in my plans for my week alone and I took the pictures so I’m doing it. I did have big grocery buying plans but did not buy as much as I thought I would. I did this post during my uni years quite a lot so it was nice to do it again now. And I went into each item a little more to fill it out.

4 pack of bell peppers

Bought for a soup recipe, also good for stir frys and salads. Peppers are a must for me, I need to have them in my fridge always. There are a lot of fallback recipes that need peppers and it’s a really easy way to get a veg in. These were huge. Like so big. Like bigger than my palm big. Yes I did most of my shopping at M&S, it’s on my walk home and they have a lot of things shush.

2 pack of broccoli

Pretty much the same thing. I love broccoli, it’s my favourite vegetable. Also a great snack when roasted with salt and pepper. I really need broccoli in my fridge at all times. I hate that I buy packaged vegetables, but it’s not really my fridge and I don’t trust the cleanliness of them unpackaged. Believe me, I cannot wait to have my veggies unpackaged in my own fridge one day.

Black kale

Bought for the coup recipe. Only used for the soup unfortunately, it just didn’t pan out with the other meals I made to include kale. Can be good for a like sweet potato, red onion, feta meal that I like. I need to find more recipes that include kale now that I think of it. I would have preferred a big pack of green kale but I could not find one, this is probably better for longevity anyway.

Vegetable stock

I have never bought vegetable stock in a bag like this; I usually am a stock cube gal. But this worked so so well. I loved being able to include as much of it as I wanted, without having to make a whole jug worth. But I did have to use it all within a couple days. This is for sure something I’m going to get more often, but I won’t discount stock cubes.

Veggie bacon

I was having a major bacon craving, and so was putting this on everything I could. Veggie bacon tastes great, and I have yet to have a bad attempt at it. My big criticism is that if frozen it really does stick together and then become kind of annoying to use. But that can be avoided if you just don’t let it get to that point.

Veggie ham

Goes with the bacon, this was primarily had with cheese hot cross buns and cheese for super easy lunches. I think I had that like 4 times. Again, I have yet to try a bad veggie ham which is delightful. This may be my favourite one ever though. Like this was damn good ham.

Chopped chilli

A recipe (the soup) called for chilli paste but this was the only thing I could find. I officially now have chilli in all forms in the kitchen. Because this is a jar you need to put a spoon in, you get a really concentrated, very strong chilli from it. Like anything I’ve put this in has been hot as hell and I very much enjoy that. And it’s super easy to use and so good. I do need to find chilli paste though.

Rose Harissa paste

I think I got this to compromise for the fact that I couldn’t find a chilli paste, so I use the two together. I have been putting this on everything, it’s another item that’s new to me but is proving to be very fun. And it smells and tastes so good. A notable meal is using this as a paste for roasted veggies, that was so good. I also used it in a shakshuka which was great. Again, I gotta find more recipes that need this but I am getting through it quite quickly.

Mushrooms

I was craving mushroom pasta and needed mushrooms for that. This pack looked good. Buying mushrooms from a supermarket can be kind of dubious, but I used most of them the day I got them so it was okay. And you can’t really buy less of them this size in an express style shop.

Chopped tomatoes

I used a can and so got another to replace it. It’s just a good thing to have in, we probably did not need them but I needed to buy more than the mushrooms. Great for sauces, soups, you already know. I try to make tomato sauces myself as much as possible and so these are a need. Homemade just tastes better than jar ones. And I do get chopped tomatoes over whole ones because I am lazy.

Sour watermelon Candy Kittens

I have recently started eating Candy Kittens and I am a woman obsessed. They are so good, so addictive. I missed gummy sweets being a vegetarian but I can eat these and I do. They just had these on the end of an aisle and I couldn’t resist. This was my first but not my last bag of these.

This was very silly but in the plans and I had the pictures so… I just did not need to buy as much as I thought I would.

Georgia

x

Leave a comment