my favourite albums of the last half of 2023 (best albums part 2)

This half of the year has crept up so quickly, how is the year already coming to a close? Unbelievable. Despite this being a pretty weak year for music in general, there have been some incredible new releases in the last 6 months. This was set to be a very long post, but I have narrowed it down to just 10. The playlist at the end has all my favourite albums and EPs for 2023, including a bunch that didn’t make this post. These are my top tier albums, that have come out since July.

The Loveliest Time – Carly Rae Jepsen

The Loveliest Time - WikipediaEveryone else should just give up with their disco pop plans. Carly Rae Jepsen has it in the bag and has perfected it. Like there was a Tiktok moment when it came out because the songs sound so much like Tame Impala or similar but it’s our girl Carly. I fall in love with this album each time I listen to it. It really is perfection. And to think that these are the b-sides that didn’t make her album last year.
My favourite songs are: Anything To Be With You, Kamikaze, Aeroplanes, Kollage, So Right, Come Over, Put It To Rest

AR – Addison Rae

Stream Addison Rae | Listen to AR playlist online for free on SoundCloudIn retrospect I got over this EP too quickly, which is a crime. It’s hyperpop perfection. There’s only 5 songs and one of them was already out (but honestly, I had never listened to it), so it’s a super quick listen. I don’t think I ever listened to it just once though, like it would be on repeat for a while. I’m very over my short-lived Addison phase but this EP is still so so fun. My favourite songs are: I got it bad, 2 die 4 and it could’ve been u 

Snow Angel – Reneé Rapp

Reneé Rapp - Snow Angel Lyrics and Tracklist | GeniusAn insane debut and an incredible album. Truly Reneé came out showing y’all that she can do it all and she worked her instrument on this album effortlessly. The lyrics are insane too like total gut punches for most songs. Each time I remember I was meant to have seen her live by now but that it’s rescheduled I cry a little. But I am seeing her twice in March and I can hold out for it. All of them are going to be great but there are some songs on here that are going to be lifechanging to see live. I cannot wait.
My favourite songs are: Talk Too Much (which I have a tattoo for), Poison Poison, So What Now, Tummy Hurts, Willow, Messy, Swim

WEEDKILLER – Ashnikko

Weedkiller (album) - WikipediaA masterpiece of an album that I am for some reason always forgetting about. But it’s really good and everything I love about Ashnikko. Truly it’s got the best of all her styles and themes, and it’s all just executed perfectly. There are some really gay songs on here and songs that mention being queer in unaccepting places but done in an Ashnikko way which I love. Seeing some of these songs live in November was a near religious experience. God I love her.
My favourite songs are: You Make Me Sick!, Don’t Look At It, Moonlight Magic, Miss Nectarine, Possession of a Weapon, Dying Star

I Love My Girl, She’s My Boy – BETWEEN FRIENDS

BETWEEN FRIENDS - I Love My Girl, She's My Boy Lyrics and Tracklist | GeniusBetween Friends is my favourite duo in the world. I will never ever get sick of their songs, and have listened to this album for hours straight. It’s a hyper-bedroom pop dream, a more accessible 100 Gecs in the best of ways. They get better and better with every project and I cannot wait to see what they do next. In fact I need it now please.
My favourite songs are: Stalker, Bruise, Haircut, What’s Up, Smiley, Self destruct, Sloppy stella, I love my girl she’s my boy (my other SOTY)

Burning Castles – Lucia & The Best Boys

Lucia & The Best Boys: Burning Castles Vinyl & CD. Norman Records UKMy introduction to Lucia & The Best Boys was their Reading set (actually it was a random song like 3 years ago but it’s not their sound anymore and I didn’t listen to anything else form them) and I entirely fell in love. It’s so so good to have a full album from them now and to be able to remember their set with it. I think they’re the first artist I’ve become enamoured with after seeing them live. The album is a perfect representation of what they can do and their sound. It’s an indie pop dream please check them out.
My favourite songs are: Butterflies, So Sweet I Could Die, Hurt Somebody You Love, Haunt You Back, Favourite Thing To Lose

The Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess – Chappell Roan

Chappell Roan: The Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess Album Review |  PitchforkMy top debut album of the year, if not ever. Which is absolutely insane to me. It’s pop perfection from a rising pop princess. It has everything that’s good about the current pop scene turned to 100. The lyrics are fun and sexy but totally heartwarming and crushing when they need to be. The project is skipless and a whole lot of fun. Chappell Roan is a total star.
My favourite songs are: Red Wine Supernova, After Midnight, Coffee, Casual, HOT TO GO! (another SOTY), Pink Pony Club, Guilty Pleasure

Something To Give Each Other – Troye Sivan

Something to Give Each Other (Modest Cover CD): Amazon.co.uk: CDs & VinylI am a Troye girly, have always been a Troye girly and will always be one. This album is his magnum opus I think. It’s everything I adore about his prior music and then some. It’s poppy, it’s fun, it’s unique while also obviously drawing inspiration from other artists. He’s a visionary. I didn’t try for Wembley tickets and I think that might haunt me.
My favourite songs are: What’s The Time Where You Are, One Of Your Girls, Still Got It, Can’t Go Back Baby, Got Me Started (SOTY?), Silly, Honey. Yes that is most of the tracklist

Violence – FIGHTMASTER

Violence - EP by FIGHTMASTER | SpotifyThe country rock EP of my dreams. I think E.R. Fightmaster is so so cool. Everything I see them do, and their character on Grey’s, I’m just obsessed. So I knew I’d love their music too but this went way beyond my expectations. I avoided the singles so the first listen of the EP is the first time I heard any music from them, and that was such a good choice. It’s skipless, and I’m going to continue to listen to this on repeat for a while. Full album soon please.

fruitcake – Sabrina Carpenter

Fruitcake' Review: Sabrina Carpenter Takes A Creative Bite of Christmas |  Arts | The Harvard CrimsonTruly cannot believe a Christmas EP is one of my favourite releases of the year, but it’s true. I have raved about this album a lot over the last few months but I really do not know a better Christmas project. This is a flawless combination of festive fun and Sabrina’s usual sound. And it’s timeless, like I will be bumping this EP in like 10 years time, I do not see it getting bad ever. I can’t wait until November when it’s time for this project again.

Georgia

x

Leave a comment